Art Kindergarten

A friend told me the other day she felt like she was in Kindergarten again – she started using watercolor for the first time. It seems we get into a technique groove and it’s hard to break out of it, especially when our busy lives shove the art into the background.

When I was in high school, I was very torn about the direction I would head for college. I was either going to be an artist or a biologist. I chose biology because “artists don’t make any money.”After focusing on art throughout high school, I took ONE painting class in college. It was sort of a joke. I had a friend who was a painting major and I had met her professor. He invited me to take the class even though I was not allowed to be in it (upper level class for painting majors only). I had already been using oils for the last couple of years and did well in the class. After college was over, I did only a few more pieces of art – a handful or two – over the next decade. I did not even keep a sketchbook.

So now, after boring you with the story of my life, I have come to the place where I need to do something serious. Everyone has dreams, it is important to not let them die! I will be 40 this year. Time to go back to kindergarten. And it really is hard – I haven’t ridden this bike in a long time. What am I trying to do? I can draw anything realistically from a photo. But transforming that style into living story characters has been a real challenge. Yesterday I tried to draw the cow jumping over the moon. I spent hours with nothing really to show for it. My pencil sketches look like a kindergartener’s. The lesson here is that artists do WORK, it is not always thrilling. But I just know something wonderful is ahead of me if I do the work. I will not rest until I get there.

About heatheroutlaw

Aspiring children's illustrator and novelist, with a passion for animals, beautiful places, and God's creation.
This entry was posted in Devotions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art Kindergarten

  1. michele says:

    Hi Heather, your dreams are the basis for all creativity! And how fortunate you are to be able to tap into that “kindergarten,” artistically speaking! Thanks for visiting my blog this week. It was so nice of you to share a kind comment! :o)

  2. Peggy says:

    Just wanted to tell you, the water color lessons are going well. I’ve also signed up for a Tony Couch workshop. I think that will help me at least get to 2nd grade. I’m seeing real progress, and it does take work. I aspire to where you already are. You’re amazing.

Leave a Reply

