In the Woods

Today, I feel sad. I miss hiking and camping. In my previous life as single mom of twin boys, we used to camp at least 2-3 times per year, and hike (or rather walk) trails nearly every weekend. I just like being in the woods. But now, in my life as married mom of 4 with no gas money, and a husband with severe allergies… well, let’s just say it’s been a while. There is a bird outside right now, creeing. Now, most everyone I know would say – oh, that’s a bird chirping. But I say, no, it’s a Carolina Wren – and that other one is a Cardinal. And they are singing because it is morning and everyone wants to know where everyone is. I miss birdwatching.

Saddest of all, I also miss my hiking buddy, Dietric Von Grimmhaus.  Here he is in a creek at Red River Gorge, KY.  I am so glad he still gets to hike and swim – he lives with my brother and their family who camp often in Cumberland.

About heatheroutlaw

Aspiring children's illustrator and novelist, with a passion for God and his creation.
This entry was posted in Off Topic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

